- Travel Guide
- - Putuo Mountain
- - Tianhou Temple
- - Tianyige Pavilion
- - Xikou Town
- - Xuedou Temple
Built in the 40th year (1561) of Emperor Jiajing in the Ming Dynasty (1368 – 1644), Tianyige Pavilion is one of the oldest private book-preserving buildings in China, initially functioning as the study of high official Fan Qin from the Ming Dynasty. Many literary giants from the Qing Dynasty (1616 – 1911) such as political theorist and philosopher Huang Zong Xi once visited the pavilion and subsequently wrote poems to express his admiration. Ever since, the pavilion has become the spiritual home of today’s literati. The total number of books preserved reaches as high as 70,000 volumes, of which the most precious is about chorography. The building was named a key culture relic under state protection by the State Council in March 1982, and a national AAAA-level scenic area by the National Tourism Administration in 2003.
Covering an area of 26,000 square meters, Tianyige Pavilion is a theme museum combining book research, protection, management, display, and tourism as one perfectly. The pavilion is a two-storied wooden building 8.5 meters high with Tianyi Pond lying in the front, which not only beautifies the environment, but also helps to prevent fires. More than 300,000 ancient books are well preserved in the pavilion today, with many precious calligraphies, paintings, and handicrafts on display.
Tianyige Pavilion is composed of the Book-Preserving Culture Area, Gardening Recreation Area, and Exhibiting Area. Centered with the Treasure Book Building, the Book-Preserving Culture Area holds Dongming Humble Cottage, the Former Residence of the Fans, Sutra-Honoring Pavilion, Mingzhou Tablets, and a newly built library. The Gardening Recreation Area is centered with East Garden, featuring Hundred-Goose Pavilion, Ninghun Hall, rockeries, a corridor, and steles. Centered with modern civilian architectures, the Exhibiting Area mainly contains the Lotus Isles, Wen’s Memorial Hall, and a gallery in the west. The gallery is decorated by pink walls and black tiles and is made up of 4 exhibit halls: Tianyige Development History Exhibit Hall, Chinese Chorography Hall, China’s Existing Book-Preserving Buildings Exhibit Hall, and Calligraphy from the Ming and the Qing Dynasties Exhibit Hall. As well, many different kinds of culture communication activities are held regular in the gallery.
Address: Tianyi Street, west of Moon Lake, Ningbo
Opening hours: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm evry day
Bus routes: 2, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 19, and 821
Weekly Recommended Deals
Highlights: The Xikou Town and Mao’s Tomb, The Xuedou Mountain
- 4 Day Hangzhou and Putuo Island Buddism Pilgrimage Tour (MCT-HZ-04) From $680
Got a question? Ask us here
We will reply to you within one working day.