Xuedou Temple

Located on Xuedou Mountain in the northwest of Xikou Town, Xuedou Temple was built in the Jin Dynasty (265 – 420) and prospered in the Tang Dynasty (618 – 907). It has been a very famous Buddhist temple since the Song Dynasty (960 – 1279) in addition with Lingyin Temple in Hangzhou, Guoqing Temple in Tiantan, and Tiantong Temple in Ningbo. Surrounded by mountains, Xuedou Temple was named one of the top 10 Buddhist temples under heaven in the Ming Dynasty (1368 – 1644). Many precious imperial items were granted to the temple by Emperor Guangxu in the Qing Dynasty (1616 – 1911) including a jade seal, jade Buddha, dragon robe, and countless sutras, all well-preserved in the temple. The present architecture cluster in the temple, with 2 ancient maidenhair trees in the front, was built in 1980’s.

Covering an area of 85,847 square meters, the architecture in Xuedou Temple is distributed along the axis line featuring the Main Gate, Entrance Screen Wall, Heavenly King Hall, Maitreya Hall, Great Buddha’s Hall, Rufeng Spring, and Buddha Worshipping Hall.

Maitreya Hall covers 1,218 square meters and is very unique in style with yellow glazed tiles on the roof and a 5-meter high statue of Monk Budai enshrined within, resting on a pedestal decorated by 9 dragon patterns. Scores of colored statues of Buddha Maitreya stand on each side of the hall, whose sizes and poses are all distinctive from one another. The Consecration Ceremony of the bronze statue of Buddha Maitreya was held on the 8th of November 2008. It stands grand and holy at 33 meters tall, covers an area of 52 acres, and is considered the most precious treasure in the temple. Together with Miaogao Platform and the Imperial Calligraphy Pavilion, Xuedou Temple is part of the Xuedou Mountain Scenic Area and attracts thousands of pilgrims every year.

Address: on Xuedou Mountain in the northwest of Xikou Town, Fenghua of Ningbo
Opening hours: 8:00 am to 5:00 pm every day